Weird Traveling Moments and How to Handle Them

This little baby hand was on my seat for take off. “Hold onto whatever you find baby.”

Recently I took a trip to Texas (no surprise there) and on my flight I encountered some….interesting moments.    We had a full flight and flew Spirit Airlines.  Spirit is great because they are so inexpensive, but you do get what you paid for.  The seats are very tiny, and on this flight the trays infront of you were about 1/3rd of the size of the regular ones.  They didn’t have a ‘clasp’ to lock in the trays, so the little ones behind us were having fun playing a game of ‘flip the trays up and down.’  We had a feeling that there was a lot of children behind us, but then the flight attendant said to the row behind us “we cannot have six people in 3 seats.” Whaaaaaaaat.  After takeoff things settled down behind us and it wasn’t so bad.  When I looked behind me to see how many kids there were, I saw this:

IMG_4444

Ummmmm okay.  I took that photo of it mainly to show my parents what I had just seen, and we laughed until we cried.  I was instantly inspired to make this post after I took that picture, hence the caption.  There were a lot of questions that came to mind after I saw that.  Did the doll pay for a seat?  Does that count as a carry on or personal item?  Could the doll sit on a childs lap or did it have to be an adult?  Am I just hallucinating?

A little later into the flight, a woman had to get her bag down from the overhead compartment, but when she went to grab her bag..her giant bottle of perfume fell down and almost knocked me out.  This big head of mine probably would have done more damage to her glass bottle than the other way around.

What do you do when instances like this happen?  Lets say the children behind you never stopped playing with the trays.  The nice thing to do would be to politely turn around and let them know that you can feel it, and ask them to stop.  The same rule applies to really any minor problem you have while flying.  First try to resolve the problem yourself, but if it doesn’t stop then ask a flight attendant for help.

If all else fails, try laughing it off.  You have a great story to tell and a blog post to make after this is all over.  Be humane, and know the respectful time to speak up.

3 thoughts on “Weird Traveling Moments and How to Handle Them

  1. Oh my gosh I love this post, I Travel back and forth every couple of months and I thought I was the only one who felt this way !

Leave your questions and comments here!

