Healthy On-The-Go Breakfast

So as I sit here at my desk eating my oatmeal, I think about how glad I am to have found said oatmeal and how I never want to be apart from it.  Now how gross does that sound, oatmeal?  Yuck, I know.  I have a love/hate relationship with oatmeal.

Anyways, I was sitting here thinking about how I should write a post on healthy alternatives for people who don’t have time to sit and eat breakfast at their house in the morning.  Real life is not ‘The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air’ or any other TV show that shows a family having like 3 hours of extra time before they go to work/school.  For many of us, breakfast is an after thought.  BUT!  Huge but.  Breakfast is the most important meal of the day!

After spending the last (if you’re lucky) 7-9 hours sleeping, your body needs nourishment!  Dumping coffee in your body is great and I am all for it, but you need some food (and water) to get your brain to attach back to your body so you are ready for the day.

So for the person who thinks of Breakfast last, you might need something quick that you can take on the drive to work and eat in the car (safely) or something that you potentially can eat at work! (It is a good idea to check to make sure you can eat at work first.)

Hand-Held Healthy

egg_white_flatbread_multigrain
Egg White Flatbread

Dunkin Donuts – Egg White Flatbread.  Egg whites are sometimes frowned upon.  Not by health experts, but by the people eating them.  But let me tell you, the self-proclaimed food eating expert, that this thing is delish.  It is a veggie omelet with a little tiny slice of cheese on it.  So good, and car friendly as you can easily hold it in one hand and keep your freakin’ eyes on the road! :) <3

Starbucks – Spinach & Feta Wrap.  This looks soooooo good.  I have yet to try it, obviously, but it is perfect for a healthy drive-thru option.  Easy, wrapped and delicious.  I mean c’mon this thing has egg whites AND spinach.  Does it get any better?

Belvita Breakfast Biscuits.  These things came into my life about a year ago, and they are perfect for an on the go breakfast and just an afternoon snack!  They are easy to eat, taste great, and they are satisfying.  Belvita has come up with different types of biscuits, like mini bites and soft baked.  My favorite flavor is the Apple Cinnamon!

Not Driving Friendly but Still Healthy

Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal
Hearty Blueberry Oatmeal

Starbucks – Blueberry Oatmeal.  This is what I just demolished.  Obviously this takes either two hands or a table top…and probably still two hands.  I am very picky about oatmeal.  I only will eat it if it ‘seems’ fresh to me and also doesn’t seem processed or gross.  Those are good judging characteristics, right?  So this oatmeal from Starbucks is the best.  It is steel-cut grains (which prob means it is extra healthy) and comes with great toppings that taste good but still keep the health factor up!  It comes with Blueberrys (obvs,) nuts & grains, and agave.  Once you get the meal from the nice people at Starbucks, you should wait a couple minutes for the water to steep into the grains and get creamy and soft.  It is super satisfying but not filling where you just want to go back to bed.  Goes great with a warm cup of coffee.

Panera – Strawberry Granola Parfait.  Yogurt is good by itself, but add in crunchy granola and sweet strawberries and I’m sold.  Take my money.  Maple butter pecan granola.  My mouth is watering.  I might just go get this on my work break!  Now this isn’t as hearty as the other options I have listed, but it is still good for you and will hold you over till about 10:30 (when everyone at the office just starts digging into their lunch.)

 

Photos were taken from Starbucks.com, PaneraBread.com, and Dunkindonuts.com

Leave your questions and comments here!

